Doctor Who Season 8 Finale

94a8cf6447874b78cbdb9023e24f0dfbSo I just finished watching the last episode of Doctor Who and I thought I could make a post about what I thought about it and about the whole season. Don’t read if you haven’t watched it, because it has spoilers.

To tell the truth, before watching the last episode I thought I wasn’t going to like it, because I really didn’t like “Dark Water”. I didn’t like Danny dying and the Master coming back. And to be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of Steven Moffat either. So maybe I’m a bit biased but my favourite episodes of this season were “Robot of Sherwood”, “Kill The Moon”, “Flatline” and “In The Forest Of The Night” which, coincidence or not, weren’t written by Moffat. Some of them were even written by people that hadn’t written a single Doctor Who episode before and I think they captured the essence of Doctor Who better than Moffat does most of the times. For example, I really liked “Kill The Moon” because of the whole idea of the moon being an egg. I don’t know why, but I really liked it. “In The Forest Of The Night” was a really amazing episode in my opinion. I really liked the whole concept of the trees growing out of nowhere and then them finding out the trees were just protecting the planet.

But as much as I dislike Moffat, I have to admit I also liked some of his episodes. I liked “The Caretaker”, I thought it was really fun having the Doctor trying to work like a normal person at Clara’s school and the bickering between the Doctor and Danny. I also liked “Time Heist”, I liked them robbing the bank and and I really liked the two characters: Psi and Saibra, I thought Moffat did well in making them like that.On the other hand, I thought “Listen” was a bit of a confusing episode and there were episodes where I felt like Moffat gave too much attention to Clara in comparison with the Doctor.

doctor-who-season-8-episode-12-death-in-heaven-poster-s08e12-finaleNow, back to the season finale, I was surprised, but in a good way, with this episode. I really liked when Clara pretended to be the Doctor at the beginning. And when Danny came back as a cyberman but he saved Clara and eventually ended up being responsible for all the cybermen disappearing. I really liked the “bow ties are cool” bit because it brought back a bit of Matt. But I didn’t really like the end, when Clara and The Doctor said goodbye and they lied to each other, although I understand why it happened like that. The Doctor told Clara he’d found Gallifrey because he wanted her to move on and be happy with Danny and he didn’t want her to feel compelled to leave with him to go travel on the TARDIS just so that he wouldn’t be alone. And Clara didn’t tell him Danny hadn’t returned because she didn’t want to be the one stopping him from going back to his planet, to his people, when he deserved to go. I also really liked what the Doctor said when they hugged: “Never trust a hug. It’s just a way to hide your face.” because it really described the moment. You could tell by their faces they were both just lying to protect the other, having no idea the other was lying as well. All in all, I think it was a good episode and I’m really looking forward to the Christmas Special.

Leave a Reply

