“The Cuckoo’s Calling” – A Review

The_Cuckoo's_CallingI finished reading this book not even ten minutes ago, but I just felt like I had to share my thoughts on it. I started reading it in the summer and it took me a while to read it, almost four months, which is more than it usually takes me to read a book. I would read a few chapters and stop and once I’d stopped it would take me a while to start reading it again. I’m not saying the book wasn’t interesting, I’m just saying that I didn’t feel compelled to get back to it once I’d stopped. Then after a while I would just tell myself to read a bit more because I had more books to read, but I just didn’t want to leave it unfinished. I usually don’t get stuck in a book, but I did this time, so last week I told myself I had to finish and I read more than half of it since then.

Now back to the book, even though it took me a while to read it, I would read it again (and maybe I will in the future). I really liked all the mystery around Lula’s death and till I found out who was the killer, I had no idea who it could be. I felt like the first three parts of the book were the ones that took me more time to read. In my opinion, the book kept getting better as you advanced in the story, which is probably why I found parts 4 and 5 that much better. I felt like the author did a great job, leaving you hanging till the very end about who the murderer was. When I reached a certain point in the story – a certain death in part 4 (not saying names because I don’t want to spoil anyone) – I just couldn’t stop reading. The story was intriguing me more and more, as well as confusing me. I had absolutely no idea who it could be. And then when the detective said who was the killer, I wasn’t expecting it to be who it was. At all! I admit I had suspected of the person for like 2 seconds before discarding the possibility, but then again I’d probably had similar suspicions about almost every other character as I read the book. So yes, I wasn’t expecting it to be who it was.

I think the book was really good and I believe you should read it, if you haven’t yet. Believe me when I say that the moment you start you won’t just put it back in the bookshelf without reaching the end, even if it takes you months to read, because you’ll want to know more about the story, more about the characters, especially Lula and Strike (at least in my case) and of course, you’ll want to know who the killer is.

And I just found out there’s a new book by Robert Galbraith (aka the amazing J.K.Rowling) called “The Silkworm” which is another Cormoran Strike’s novel and now I just want to go buy it (even though I have a pile of books waiting to be read).

Leave a Reply

