Looking back on 2014

I’ve been meaning to make a post like this since the year started but I’ve been really busy studying for my exams. Now it’s 11pm and I’ve done my fair share of studying for today, so I just thought: why not do it now? It’s not like I would be studying if I wasn’t writing this…

2014 went by really fast. I’ve thought about it dozens of times, but I still can’t decide if it was a good year for me or a bad one. However, I can’t say it was a bad year, because even though some really harsh stuff happened, I made some of the best memories this year. And that’s what this post is about: the amazing things I experienced in 2014.

These are certainly the best memories I have of 2014:

  • Spending a day in Lisbon with my best friend

        lx              lx2

In August, I spent a day in Lisbon with one of my best friends and it was amazing. I didn’t know Lisbon that well and she did, so she showed me the city, or at least a part of it. It was a day full of fun. Between seeing my friend from the UK that was on a cruise that stopped in Lisbon that day, to almost getting lost and walking more than 10km around the city, I couldn’t have asked for a better day. We went to LX Factory where we bought two slices of one of the best chocolate cakes I’ve ever tasted and we found a library (that you can see in the picture) that was simply beautiful.

It was a great day and certainly one of the best memories I have of 2014.

  • Ed Sheeran’s concert in Rock in Rio Lisboa

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABeing such a massive fan of Ed Sheeran, I couldn’t pass the chance of seeing him live. His concert was simply amazing. I felt so happy watching him live. The crowd was singing so much and it made Ed happy, you could tell it in his face. We sang Thinking Out Loud with him and it had only been out for one or two days, he even tweeted about it.

Every time I listen to some of his songs, I still feel what I felt that day, the happiness. I was pretty close to the stage as well, which made it even better.

There’s literally no words to describe how incredible the concert was and I can’t wait for the next time I’ll see him live.

  • Where We Are Tour: One Direction concert in Porto

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYes, I like One Direction! I love them, to be honest. I have since I first heard about them, in the summer of 2011, when they didn’t even have music out yet. They mean the world to me and in 2014 I got the chance to see them live for the 2nd time. I had gone to their Take Me Home Tour concert in 2013 with some of my friends, but this time none of them wanted to go with me. I couldn’t let that stop me from seeing them again. Thanks to a girl from twitter I managed to get a really good ticket. Even though I was going alone, I was going to make the most of it. Being hours in the queue to get in, waiting for them to start the concert when they were late, it was all worth it. I met some people who I spent the concert with and they were really great. And the concert was simply brilliant. As cheesy as it sounds, I’ve never felt more like I was in the right place. This was without any doubts the best thing that happened to me in 2014

  • Comic Con Portugal

ccI’ve talked about this before, so there’s not much I can say about it. It was a great day! And a great memory to finish off the year.

  • Queima das Fitas

qI left this one for last because it’ll take some explaining to do. The universities in Portugal have a lot of traditions that go from having an academic outfit (it’s said that J.K. Rowling based the Hogwarts’ clothing on our academic outfits) to the academic week called “Queima das Fitas“, which translates to Ribbon Burning. These traditions are a bit different from university to university, but in mine, the one with the oldest traditions, there’s this academic week in May to celebrate not only the end of the course for the students about to graduate, but just the end of the year for all the students. It’s at the beginning of this week that the students on the first year can wear the academic outfit for the first time. Last year, it was my first year at uni, so in May I got to wear the academic outfit for the first time. That’s why this is such a special memory for me, because it made me so happy and proud to be a part of this big tradition. There’s also a parade, that used to be on a Tuesday but now it’s on a Sunday, and I first heard about it when I was a kid and we didn’t have school in the afternoon because they were closing the main streets so that the parade could take place. And I always saw the students wearing that black academic outfit, looking up to them, wanting to be a part of it as well. And that week was the moment I became a part of it. I was no longer just a watcher, but a participant, which makes me beyond happy.

This probably sounds a bit strange to non.Portuguese people, so I suggest you just check the links I put in the text and maybe you’ll understand it a bit better.

So that’s it for now.

Jo xx

P.S. I know I didn’t post “The River Quotes” on Saturday but I wasn’t home and I have been busy so I’ll just post them all on Wednesday.

One thought on “Looking back on 2014

  1. I have two things to say about this post:
    1- you always make me so jealous when you talk about Ed’s concert and I hate you for that!
    2- you got me so excited for Queima!

    Like

Leave a Reply

