Simple Things: Unpredictable Stargazing

Hey there!

So I started university again today and it was a really tiring day, having lectures from 9am until 6pm with only one hour lunch break. By the way, sorry I haven’t posted in a while but last week I went to my aunt’s house and I only got back on Saturday. Anyway, I actually had a post planned out in my head about traveling which I was going to do today, but on my way back home something changed my mind.

As I’ve said, I had a pretty tiring day and it didn’t help that the bus services in my city were working crappier than normal today, which led to me only getting a bus home at 7:15pm. Twenty minutes later, getting out of the bus in my bus stop, I still have to walk a bit until I get to my house. Usually, it takes me less than ten minutes because I can’t wait to get home and today was no exception: I really wanted to get home and rest. Surprisingly, it was not what happened. When I was on my way, walking through a less illuminated part of the street, I noticed that the sky was really clear and you could see tons of stars. I’ve always loved looking at the stars, but I just keep getting more and more into stargazing as time goes.

There’s something about looking at the stars that really calms me down. Maybe it’s just trying to find the few constellations I know, maybe it’s the fact that when I travel at night I look out of the car window and always see stars, or maybe it’s really just the beauty of it… I don’t know. What I know is that I love looking at them. By now there’s a few constellations I can identify, such as Orion, the Ursa Major and Cassiopeia. My favourite one has to be Orion, probably because it’s the first one I learnt to find in the sky and also it’s the one I can find in less time. It’s also a really beautiful constellation to be honest. There’s also a star I like: Sirius and the reason I like it so much, which is going to sound really geeky, is because of Harry Potter and because I love Sirius Black and I find his death really unfair and sad, but seeing a star in the sky with his name gives me some kind of reassurance.

Getting back to what happened today… I found myself stopping in the middle of sidewalk to just look at the stars and I immediately felt amazed by how many of them I could see. As I expected, it only took me a few seconds to find Orion and, as always, I felt really happy to see it in the sky. It’s a reassurance, I guess, that some things never change, at least not for as long as I live… But there were so many more stars and I found myself wishing I new more about them, about constellations. Anyhow, I felt happier and calmer than the other times I look at the stars, like for a moment nothing was wrong in the world. The reason for that was the song playing through my earphones. On my journeys home, I’m always listening to music and today I was in a 5 Seconds Of Summer mood so I had all the 5SOS songs I have on my phone on shuffle. And ‘Unpredictable’ was playing as I stood alone in the middle of the street looking up at the sky. There was something about that song that really made that moment feel special. To be honest every time I listen to ‘Unpredictable’ it makes me feel some kind of way that I can’t explain and I don’t know why. In this moment though, stargazing while the lyrics sank in, I couldn’t help but notice how some of them fit:

“We can run down the street
With the stars in our eyes
We can tear down this town
In the dark of the night
Just open the door
We’ve got time on our side
We can make it out alive”

I honestly couldn’t stop smiling as I made my way back home. I just felt really relaxed, even after such a tiring day. I’m just glad that these simple things exist all around me, which can unpredictably turn the worst day into a better one. I guess that’s the beauty of it: not knowing that just around the corner there can be something that’ll make your life better.

Until next time,

Jo xx

Leave a Reply

