A Weekend in Lisbon #1

(Warning: This post is going to be a bit long, majorly pictures we took.)

My friends and I had been planning a weekend in Lisbon for a while and it finally happened. We got on a train to Lisbon at around 2 in the afternoon last Friday and after two hours there we were. We took the subway to a station in the center of Lisbon and then walked the rest of the way to our hostel. We were welcomed warmly by a lady who immediately told us to sit down so that we could talk for a bit. She explained how everything worked at the hostel, showed us around the building and then led us to our room. She also told us that the name of every room was “cheers” in different languages, which we found pretty cool. Our room, which consisted of a dormitory with two bunk beds, was the “Mazel Tov” one. We all really liked the hostel and I think that if I ever have to stay in Lisbon for a few days, I’ll try to stay there again.

Our friend that’s currently studying in Lisbon met up with us at the hostel and then we made our way to the subway again. And I found out I’d lost my subway ticket, which meant I had to spend more money on a new one. Before going underground, we still walked for a bit, enjoying the sunny afternoon.

Our plan for the afternoon was to go to ‘Parque das Nações’, which is in the northeastern part of Lisbon. It had been home to Expo 98 (a world exposition in 1998) and since then it became a really commercial and leisure-dedicated area.

Having arrived at ‘Parque das Nações’, we started walking to our destination: the Lisbon Oceanarium, which is the largest indoor aquarium in Europe and apparently it’s also one of the few aquariums in the world to have a sunfish. I admit we were all pretty excited about going to the Oceanarium. I hadn’t been there in a long while but I had always loved it. Even when I realised I had lost my sweater somewhere, the excitement didn’t die down. We already had our tickets so we immediately went inside.

The Oceanarium has one big aquarium in the center that occupies two different floors and you go around it, going in another rooms as well. Being in there was even better than I remembered.

4

We started by seeing the birds that were there. The ones in the bottom pictures were extremely cute! They jumped into the water, splashing everywhere and they didn’t seem to mind when we approached them, standing really close to them.

It was now time to go see the penguins! Penguins are one of my favourite animals, because they are really cute. We stood there for a bit watching them and I even took a selfie with them in the background, just because…

Between these rooms and going around the aquarium, it was now time to see the animals we’d been more excited about: the sea otters.

This was probably one of the places where we spent more time, specially because the sea otters kept disappearing. While we waited, I ended up taking the picture in the upper right corner in the glass of a little tank.

There were two sea otters and eventually they both showed up. They were both really adorable and we just stood there watching them, as well as trying to take selfies where they appeared.

We then spend a longer time looking at the big aquarium, watching the fish. It was really calming and peaceful being there watching them. There was so much to look at, so many different fish to see and everything was beautiful!

Anyway, I have a question: do you see the big fish in the upper right picture? Is it just me or does it look like the moon emoji?

There was a temporary exhibition about tropical forests, where we went to as well.

8

We ended up taking a bunch of silly pictures in here, just having a bit of fun. We saw a lot of other rooms that had insects, amphibians and other species of fish and other water animals. Obviously, I’m not going to show you pictures of everything or this would become an even longer post.

9

These are some more pictures of the main aquarium. There was a moment where we just sat down on the ground right in front of it and just stood there for a while: looking at the fish and talking to each other.

We went to see some other smaller tanks, where we saw jelly fish and tons of other species.

10

11

One of my favourite things about the fish tanks was that everything was so colourful. The big aquarium gave out this blue light and it made everything look amazing!

We took some more pictures near the aquarium and I just love this one of me sitting down, looking at the fish.

These are just some more pictures I took that I really like and just show how beautiful everything was! We spent almost two hours in the oceanarium, leaving at 8p.m. since it was closing time.

I had an amazing time in there and the money spent on the ticket was totally worth it!

When we left, I couldn’t resist taking some pictures of where we were, since it looked beautiful with the sun almost setting. The big building you see in the middle of the water is the Oceanarium.

We finished off the day by going to this restaurant called ‘Hamburgueria do Bairro’ where we had hamburgers for dinner and they were one of the best we’d ever tasted!

Then we went back to the subway, where we took the train back to center of Lisbon. We walked around for a bit before going back to our hostel.

This was how we spent our Friday afternoon in Lisbon. I’ll be making other posts about what we did on Saturday and Sunday.

I apologise again for how long this post was.

Until next time,

Jo xx

Leave a Reply

