Top 5 Things To Do When You’ve Had A Stressful Day

After a really stressful and tiring day or after something happens that gets on our nerves, we all need something to calm us down. I don’t know if it’s just me but the same thing doesn’t always manage to calm me down and put me back in a good mood. However, there are some things that I tend to do, because I know at least one of them will work.

This morning, something happened at uni that made me really stressed and upset. This teacher whose son is friends with my brother made a stupid comment comparing me to him and it really got on my nerves, because she shouldn’t have said something like that. It was really unprofessional because a lot of my classmates were in the wrong as I was and she just targeted me, because she “knew me”. I couldn’t help it and talked back, but I stopped myself before I could get in trouble. I was upset about it the whole day and when I was the bus home I was still stressing about it. I do know I probably shouldn’t have talked back to my teacher like that but as I said, it was really unprofessional of her to made the comment she made in the middle of class.

Anyway, today’s events were what led me to have the idea for this post. On the bus, I kept thinking about what I could do once I got home to relax and calm down. I came up with a list of things I usually do when I need to calm down, so here they are:

  • Listen To Music

Music is a big part of my life. I listen to it in all types of situations, including when I’m nervous or stressed. It’s always my first choice when I need to calm down because even when I’m not home, I have my earphones and my phone with me so I can listen to music whenever I want to. It usually helps. I’ve always found it amazing how one song can change your mood in seconds and some times that’s what I need. There’s times though when only the perfect song can put me in a good mood and I don’t even know which song it is until it starts playing.

  • Make Yourself A Cup Of Tea

I love making myself a cup of tea when I get home. I drink tea frequently and all types of it. When I’m stressed I choose camomile tea because it is said to be a stress reliever and relaxant. That’s what I did today, when I got home: I made myself a large cup of camomile tea.

I think tea in general relaxes me but maybe there are different types of tea that work better for different people when it comes to relaxing.

  • Take A Shower

Taking a hot shower after a long stressful day is one of the best things. I immediately feel myself relax when the warm water hits my skin. To make it even better, I usually put some music playing in the bathroom, combining two of these things to help me calm down. That’s why I like showering when I’m home alone: because I don’t have to worry if the music is too loud or if I’m singing horribly. I always feel better when I get out of the shower, so it’s a good thing to do after a tiring day.

  • Watch An Episode Of Your Favorite TV Show

It’s always nice to watch an episode of one of the tv shows you follow and just focus on the story. You forget about your worries as you watch the episode and unconsciously you relax from the stress of the day.

  • Write

The last main thing that helps me relaxing is writing. Whether it’s writing one of my stories or writing a blog post, even if it has nothing to do with what is making you stressed, writing helps.

These are some of the things I do when I need to relax, some times even more than one at the same time, like listening to music and writing (as I’m doing right now) or drinking a cup of tea and watching something on TV.

What do you do when you’re stressed? Do you also do these things or different ones that help you relax? Tell me your thoughts in this.

Until next time,

Jo xx

(all the pictures used were found on google)

One thought on “Top 5 Things To Do When You’ve Had A Stressful Day

Leave a Reply

