Simple Things: Swimming & Music

So I was going through my blog posts and stumbled upon this one and I got the idea of getting back on the topic of simple things that make me happy, especially because after today I had something to talk about.

Having a swimming pool at home comes really in handy in the summer. Today was the first day I went to the pool and it’s still one of my favorite things. Being home alone, I woke up and decided to go for a swim, before I started revising. The weather was pretty nice, which was a good thing! Since I didn’t feeling like being in complete silence, I put some music blasting through my phone. To be honest, it took me a while to get in the water because it was a bit cold, but once I did, this calming feeling took over me, making me feel totally relaxed and happy. There’s something about swimming that always makes me feel like this.

Anyway, I was goofing around in the water, listening to the music that was playing and it just felt so nice. And then a song ended and this song I’ve been obsessed with for the past few days started. It was ‘I’m There‘ by Hey Violet and the song is just so beautiful! Being in the water, listening to it, the lyrics sinking in, I hadn’t felt so content and in peace in a long while. I felt like everything was in harmony and it was the best feeling. Even though this was the song that impacted more on me, just being in the water listening to music made me feel really happy. It took everything in me to get out of the pool and even when I did, there was a smile on my face.

The next few weeks are going to be really hard for me with all the revising for exams and the actual exams so it’s really comforting knowing that there are things like this that I know will make me feel happy, no matter how shitty my mood might be.

Leave a Reply

