It’s okay…

I’ve wanted to make this post for a while but I didn’t know how to put my thoughts into words. Anyway, here it goes…

These past few months I can honestly say I’ve been living a pretty happy life, stressful and with a few complications but overall I’ve been really happy with myself and that’s all I could ask for. At the beginning of the year, I went through a bit of a rough patch, letting my negative thoughts affect me too much but thankfully after a while, I got a new perspective of things and I became much happier. However, this doesn’t mean that once in a while I don’t have a day where I’m just not feeling good at all. I get days like that at least once a month but the thing is: I’ve accepted that I have days like that and I don’t let them take over my life. I’m living a happy life but I know I can have a bad day and just because I’m having one of those days, it doesn’t mean life sucks.

We all deal with stress different ways, we all respond to our emotions in different ways… We don’t have to deal with things all in the same way and we surely don’t all live the same way. We all need days to recharge our batteries and we all need time for ourselves. And all this is okay. It’s okay if you’re feeling sad, it’s okay if you just need to shut down the world for a bit and be on your own, it’s okay to feel all kinds of different emotions at once, it’s okay to plug your earphones in and listen to music when you’re around other people because music helps you relax and feel safe, it’s okay not to want to go out because you’d rather stay at home resting but it’s also okay to go out and do everything you want and have fun, it’s okay to have mixed feelings about something, it’s okay to yell, it’s okay to cry, it’s okay to get upset, it’s okay to tell people you need to be alone, it’s okay to feel down without having an apparent reason, it’s okay to laugh in the most awkward situations, it’s okay not knowing what to do, it’s okay to feel lost, it’s okay to find yourself in things you never even considered you could find yourself in, it’s okay to act childish even though you’re an adult, it’s okay to feel insecure, it’s okay to feel anxious, it’s okay to be passionate about something other people don’t like, it’s okay to be scared, it’s okay to be different, it’s okay to be yourself…

I don’t know where I’m going with this, I just… I had days where I felt completely broken and I feel like reading a post like this could have helped, if not in anything else, in knowing I wasn’t the only one feeling that way. So I decided to make this post to share my experience in hopes it might help other people. These past few months made me realise that some things I did or felt were okay and once I accepted that, things got so much easier. And sometimes all I need is to remind myself that this is all okay, this is all normal. As I’ve said, there are bad days. I can be having the most amazing week and then wake up the next day feeling not so bright and I just tell myself that I can let the sadness in for a day, because if I can randomly have a really happy day, I can also have a sad day. I just can’t let it take over my life. This used to happen and I used to have bad weeks instead of bad days but these last months have changed that and I guess I’ve grown up a bit to become a better person. And I’m happy, I really am. Even if I get sad, I don’t really forget the happiness in my life. So I know it’s okay. I know I’m okay.

This was what I wanted to share with you all.

Until next time,

Jo xx

Leave a Reply

