Summer Reading List

Hello everyone!

Even though reading is one of my favourite things, I don’t have much time to do it while I have uni, so I always use the holidays to catch up on my reading.

Today I bring you a list of the books I’m planning on reading this summer, so here we go:

  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

I’d heard about this book on the internet quite a few times so I was always curious about it. I don’t think it is that known here in Portugal but I might be wrong, since this is not the usual type of books that I read. Anyway, I stumbled upon it in a bookshop here in my city and decided to buy it immediately. I started reading it a few months ago but even though it’s quite a small book, I still haven’t finished it because I almost never had time to read until uni was over. I’m almost finishing it now but I have mixed feelings about it, to be honest. We’ll see how I feel by the end of it…

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Yet another book I’d heard a lot about on the internet. I’d been wanting to buy it for a while but I never seemed to find it in my favourite bookshops, until one day I did and I decided to buy it immediately. I remember my mum asking if I had to buy a book every time we went there and I was like “mum… it’s not every time…” and she just smiled knowingly at me because it might not be every time but it’s a big amount of times…

  • S.O.S. by Joseph Connolly

I confess I’d never heard of this book before. I bought it the same day I bought Of Mice and Men because that day I was just in one of those moods where I’d buy the entire bookshop if I could. I had some self-restraint though and ended up only buying these two books. This one is about a trip on a cruise crossing the Atlantic and from what I read in the back of the book, it seemed a really funny story so I decided to give it a go.

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Another book I’d wanted to read for a while. When I was ready to borrow it from a friend, I found it on a bookshelf in my house. It was from a collection of books my mum had bought a few years ago. I just didn’t even know we had it until then…

  • The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

This is the second novel featuring the detective Cormoran Strike. I read the first book, The Cuckoo’s Calling (I even made a blog post about it), I was really happy when I found out The Silkworm was finally out in Portuguese (I have this thing where if I start reading a series of books in Portuguese, I won’t start reading it in English just because the next book isn’t out in Portuguese yet and I’ll just wait until it’s finally out, which can be a bit of a long wait…). It was quite funny because I went to the store to pick up an online order and then I decided to go check if the book was out yet but I couldn’t find it, so I thought it wasn’t out yet. I was leaving the store, actually I was already out, when I looked at this shelf they have near the entrance where they put the latest releases and there it was. So I went back inside and bought it, as expected.

  • Redeemed by P. C. Cast & Kristin Cast

Even though I’m not as much of a fan of the House of Night series as I used to be, I can’t just not read a new book of the series, especially when it’s the last one. I can’t just give up on the series just because I don’t like it as much as I used to, I just can’t. I went shopping yesterday and I saw the book in the store and I bought it immediately, even though before I had no idea a new book was out. I’m curious to see how the story will unfold and how the series will end.

This is it for today. Tell me your opinions on these books if you have read them or what you are planning on reading this summer (if you are planning on reading).

Until next time,

Jo x

Leave a Reply

