Dip-Dying My Hair Without Bleach Or Damage

For a while I’ve been thinking about dip-dying my hair. I was curious about how it would look like but I was also hesitant about it because I didn’t want to damage my hair and I especially didn’t want to use bleach. So a few weeks ago I stumbled upon a video on Youtube by Sophie Foster called “How I Dip-Dye My Hair Purple Without Damage Or Bleach“, which was exactly what I was looking for. In the video, she explains how she dip-dyes her hair using Colour Revive by Osmo. I did some research and found out that this product was made to help maintain the colour of dyed hair and not to actually dye it. However, since Sophie’s hair is darker than mine, if it worked for her, it would surely work for me too. This is also a conditioner and not typical hair dye so it doesn’t damage your hair (at least not much).

I was torn between red and purple and to be honest I was still having my doubts about dip-dying my hair. Two weeks ago I finally decided I was going to do it, so I started to look for the colours Osmo had and seeing where I could buy it. I couldn’t find it here in Portugal, so I decided to order from Amazon since I could find it there. When it came to choosing the colour, I asked a couple of friends for opinions and ended up choosing the “Purple Rouge” shade.

My brother ended up ordering it for me on amazon.de since it was cheaper that way and he was coming home last week and could bring it with him. When he got home and gave it to me, I couldn’t help but get a bit upset because the colour was different from what they showed in the picture above. It was actually more dark red than anything.

6

After the initial confusion, I was okay with it because red was actually one of options I had in mind. I decided to try it yesterday morning. I woke up and took a shower, washing my hair like I usually do. After that, I pretty much followed what Sophie says in the video: I put on a pair of rubber gloves and put a bit of the product on my gloves, rubbing it together and then putting in on my hair. I spent a bit of time making sure the dye was well spread in my hair. Then I waited ten minutes before washing it off with water, which took me a few minutes as well. After that, I just let my hair dry naturally because that’s what I always do (I’m just too lazy to dry it myself).

7

This was after I went to my garden in hopes that the sun would help my hair dry faster, but then I just got bored and I couldn’t wait so I used the hair dryer.

8

3

I was really happy with how it turned out and I’ll definitely be doing this again since this isn’t permanent and according to Sophie it starts fading after three washes. Maybe in the future I’ll even order the Violet shade since now I know that it actually works pretty well on my hair. Here are some more pictures of how my hair looks (the quality is not the best in some of them because the camera I normally use is being repaired so I had to use my other one and my phone).

5

1

2

I really really liked the result and I’m really glad I decided to do it! This is a really nice alternative if you’re afraid of damaging your hair and I’d definitely recommend it.

Until next time,

Jo xx

3 thoughts on “Dip-Dying My Hair Without Bleach Or Damage

Leave a Reply

