“To Kill A Mockingbird” – A Review

Disclaimer: this post contains spoilers.

I finished reading this book while I was on holiday in Spain and decided to write about it.

First of all, I want to say I really liked reading this book. Obviously, there are a few things I wish hadn’t happened but I guess the story wouldn’t make sense if they didn’t.

To Kill A Mockingbird deals with a lot of issues that are still a problem in the 21st century, like racism and gender inequality, for example. The world has evolved since the book was written and what happens in the book wouldn’t happen today (at least I’d like to believe so), but these things are still present. The book tells the story from the perspective of a child which makes it really interesting. I like how the author shows the simplicity of children’ minds. For example, when Jem, Scout and Dill are witnessing Tom Robinson’s trial and everything has been exposed, it all seems simple and obvious for Jem: Tom didn’t do it, so he won’t be considered guilty by the jury. To Jem it didn’t matter if Tom was black, he was innocent and therefore wouldn’t be convicted. Unfortunately, that’s not how things go and this was one of the things I didn’t like, even though I knew it would happen (I just had this tiny little hope it wouldn’t).

My favourite two episodes of the book have to be:

  1. When Scout manages to stop the mob of men that were going to hit Atticus in order to go inside the prison to get Tom. I really liked how a little girl could stop them from doing so.
  2. When Scout finally meets Boo Radley. From the moment the court trial story began, the Boo Radley story went to the sidelines, but it couldn’t end like that. At least I hoped it wouldn’t, because I wanted Boo to appear at least once.

Other thing I found amusing was the amount of times Scout got told off for doing something that wasn’t ladylike. Growing up I had my fair share of “you should learn how to do this because that’s something’s women take care off” or “it doesn’t matter your brother is older, this is for women to do” and I never liked hearing that because it always seemed unfair to me. So seeing Scout treated like that made me go back in my memories. This being said, Scout is probably my favourite character even though she’s not even ten by the end of the book.

I think To Kill A Mockingbird is a really good book and you can learn a lot from it. I’d recommend it to everyone who enjoys reading and even those who don’t.

3 thoughts on ““To Kill A Mockingbird” – A Review

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book. It’s a personal favorite of mine. Like you I learned a lot from this book. Totally eye-opening especially since I read it in my earlier teenage years. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really did! And I bought “Go Set A Watchman” yesterday which I recently found out it’s like the sequel and I’m really looking forward to reading it too. Have you read it?

      Like

      • No I haven’t! I’m actually hesitant on reading it because of the reviews regarding Atticus Finch. He’s one of my favorite characters in the books and apparently he’s totally different from the first book. Although I heard that Go Set A Watchman was the original manuscript for TKAM..so a prequel instead of a sequel-that’s what I heard though.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

