Sounds Good Feels Good

The new 5 Seconds Of Summer album, which is called ‘Sounds Good Feels Good’, is finally out. Being a big fan of the band, I decided to share my thoughts on it.

I really like the whole album and I think that in comparison with their first one, you can totally tell they grew up. The lyrics are more mature, they have more meaning, and are just generally better. The music is better too. All in all, I think it’s a really good album and completely different from their first one!

Now I’m going to tell you my opinion on each song.

  • Money

This song was released before the album was out and I admit at first I wasn’t that fond of it. I thought that the song didn’t have a message at all like their first single of the album did. But not all songs need to have that kind of message. Money is a party song. I’ve grown to like it and now every time it plays when I’m home, I just dance and sing to it.

Favourite lyrics:

“Take my money, take my keys
Drive this car through the drive-thru please
From the floor to the ceiling, robbing and stealing
Everybody in the place catch that feeling like
Ooooh ooooh
Take my money”

  • She’s Kinda Hot

This was the first single of SGFG and I liked it a lot. The title is totally misleading and before the song was out, I thought it would be about something completely different. The song has a really strong message and once again it’s one of those songs that make you feel like it’s okay to be weird and it’s okay to be who you are. I think this was a really good choice for the first single because it says a lot about the type of band they are and want to be.

Favourite lyrics:

“They say we’re losers and we’re alright with that
We are the leaders of the not-coming-back’s
But we’re alright though
Yeah, we’re alright though
We are the kings and the queens of the new broken scene
Yeah, we’re alright though”

  • Hey Everybody!

This was another song that at first I wasn’t fond of. It reminded me too much of ‘Hungry Like The Wolf’ by Duran Duran and I couldn’t get past that. Eventually, after listening to the song a couple of times, I started paying more attention to the lyrics than to that fact and now I quite like it. It has an important message as well.

Favourite lyrics:

“It’s not the end of the world
Yeah, we’ve all been there before and it goes oh”

“We can’t afford to give up
We got to make out on luck”

“Everyone says that you’ll just turn back around
And what’s ironic to me,
The ones that don’t ever leave think that they know”

  • Permanent Vacation

This song is really special for me since the first time they played it live it was in my ROWYSO concert. I was really looking forward to finally listening to the studio version of it and I liked it a lot. This is another song that has really cool lyrics and you should definitely pay attention to them, if you listen to it!

I also really like Michael’s voice in this song and the whole instrumental part of it!

Favourite lyrics:

“You say that I’m too complicated
Hung up and mis-educated
Well I say 9 to 5 is overrated
And we all fall down

I can’t sleep ’cause my mind keeps racing
My chest hurts ’cause my heart keeps breaking
I’m so numb and I can’t stop shaking
And we all fall down”

“Frustration, desperation
You say I need some kind of medication
Situation: no motivation
Destination: permanent vacation”

“Voices coming through the speaker
And they can’t make me a believer
I know I’m an under-achiever
And we’re all so proud

Watch out, I think we’re going under
Right now, you’re just another number
Get out, the system’s in the gutter
And we’re all so proud”

(Yes, I do realise I almost put the whole song here and I might as well have…)

  • Jet Black Heart

This is one of my favourite songs in the album and it means a lot to me. It has a really powerful message and I think everyone should definitely listen to it (and pay attention to the lyrics).

Once again Michael’s voice is on point.

Favourite lyrics:

“Everybody’s got their demons
Even wide awake or dreaming
I’m the one who ends up leaving
Make it okay”

“But now that I’m broken
Now that you know it
Caught up in a moment
Can you see inside?”

“‘Cause I’ve got a jet black heart
And there’s a hurricane underneath it”

“Now I’m holding on for dear life
There’s no way that we could rewind
Maybe there’s nothing after midnight
That could make you stay”

“The blood in my veins
Is made up of mistakes”

  • Catch Fire

When I started listening to this song, I immediately liked it. It puts me in a happy mood with a smile on my face, even though it has some really deep lyrics and it’s not necessarily a happy song.

I really like the drumming on this one!

Favourite lyrics:

“Oh say, can you see? This is not who I’m supposed to be
Without you I’m nobody, killing time”

“Now I’m lost in this swirling sea of your sorry eyes”

“All my life, I’ve been waiting for moments to come
When I catch fire, and wash over you like the sun”

“So how does it feel? All alone, is it so surreal?
‘Cause the ghost of survivor’s guilt can be so unkind” (I really like this one!)

  • Safety Pin

This song makes me really happy and it gives me hope. It has been out for a while and I absolutely love it! It’s a song for the broken kids, for the ones that don’t fit it, for everyone that feels judged by society and I think it basically says that we can make our own happiness!

Favourite lyrics (I’m just gonna put almost the whole thing here because I love them all!):

“Runaways, we’re the long lost children
Running to the edge of the world
Everybody wants to throw us away
Broken boy meets broken girl
You said you tried it all before
And it only makes it worse
Oh but this time, maybe this time
Two wrongs make it right

We’ll safety pin, the pieces of our broken hearts back together
Patching up all the holes until we both feel much better
Deleted things I’m feeling bad, so now I’ll say the things I never sent
We’ll safety pin, the pieces of our broken hearts back together

Throwing rocks at your broken window
Only you can cure my sickness
Raise ourselves and a middle finger
Cause they all think we’re twisted
Once I got a little taste
Now I’m addicted to your fix
Oh yeah this time, maybe this time
Two wrongs make it right

We’ll safety pin, the pieces of our broken hearts back together
Patching up all the holes until we both feel much better
Deleted things I’m feeling bad, so now I’ll say the things I never sent
We’ll safety pin, the pieces of our broken hearts back together

No more waiting, we can save us from falling
This time, maybe this time

  • Waste The Night

This is a really good song as well. It’s a bit different for the others in my opinion but I still like it a lot. It feels like the perfect song to listen to as you’re driving at night or just traveling in general.

Favourite lyrics:

“Taste in your tongue, the smoke in your lungs
And I need your love, and I need your love”

“I don’t wanna say goodbye to another night
And watch you walk away
I don’t wanna let it burn in the city lights
And make the same mistakes”

“The scratch in your voice leaves me no choice
And I won’t give up, and I can’t give up”

  • Vapor

I liked this song from the very first listen. It has some really powerful lyrics. All in all, the song is really good: their voices, the instrumental part, everything. I really like that there’s a violin in this song, it works really well!

Favourite lyrics:

“Cause I just need another hit
You’re the thing that I can’t quit”

“I want to breathe you in like a vapor
I want to be the one you remember
I want to feel your love like the weather
All over me, all over me”

“If I don’t look into your eyes
It’s almost like a perfect lie”

  • Castaway

I don’t know how to explain this song, but it gives out this angry and kind of dark vibe, you know? (No, you probably don’t because I’m shitty at explaining…)

I just think this song has a lot of emotion in it but without being slow. It’s kind of more punk rock, I guess. The instruments on this one, especially the drums, sound sick!

Favourite lyrics:

“All your screaming whispers, slip right through my fingers
But these memories linger on
Eyes closed, all I see is good times disappearing
And I’m trying to hold on

Cause you walked out and left me stranded
Nothing left but picture frames
I just keep on asking myself”

  • The Girl Who Cried Wolf

This is another of my favourites. It was out way before the album so I’ve listened to it a lot. The lyrics are really sad and the vocals make it even more beautiful. The title got me curious before I had heard it and I had no idea what it was about but after listening to it, it made a lot of sense. I could relate to the song in one or two aspects so maybe that’s why I like it so much.

Favourite lyrics:

“The girl who cries wolf every day
Ignored by gravity, but in the end, don’t ask why”

“You say you wanna, but do you wanna run away?
Your great escape, oh yeah
Where you going? Always running
Find a way to call it quits again”

“The truth is spelled out in your eyes
Why don’t you just reach out and make it clear to me?
What are you telling me?”

  • Broken Home

This song is the one that means the most to me in the album. I immediately broke down crying the moment I heard it, because I could relate to it a lot. My parents go through times when they argue a lot and I have to listen to it, I put music blasting through my earphones but I still know they are arguing and it hurts me to know it and watch it. So yeah, this song hit really really close to home and all the feelings I keep to myself about it, it’s like they put them on this song. It honestly means a lot to me that they wrote such song.

Favourite lyrics:

“Hey mum, hey dad
When did this end?
Where did you lose your happiness?
I’m here alone inside of this broken home
Who’s right, who’s wrong
Who really cares?
The fault, the blame, the pain’s still there
I’m here alone inside of this broken home, this broken home”

  • Fly Away

This song makes me really happy! While I was planning and packing for Barcelona, this was one of the only songs I listened to. It just makes me want to travel more and know more of the world. Also, I was really excited about listening to it while being on a flight which was a really cool moment for me.

Favourite lyrics:

“I won’t waste another day wishing this would fade away
Running we’re not looking back

I want a little bit of California
With a little bit of London sky
I wanna take my heart to the end of the world
And fly away tonight
I want a little bit of open ocean
With a New York state of mind”

“A never ending replay
With memories I can’t erase
I see the best of times in front of me
Now I’m off to paradise
To a war I’ll never fight
Say goodbye to pain and misery”

  • Invisible

This is another sad song with a lot of meaning. It’s also one of my favourites. I like how Calum sings the whole song and the lyrics are just so beautiful!

Favourite lyrics:

“I was already missing before the night I left
Just me and my shadow and all of my regrets
Who am I? Who am I when I don’t know myself?”

“Wasted days, dreaming of the times I know I can’t get back
It seems I just lost track
Looking on as all of life’s colours seem to fade to grey
I just walked away”

  • Airplanes

Another song I love… The lyrics are really great too. I feel like I’m repeating myself but it’s the truth.

It kind of reminds me of Mayday Parade. Also, Michael completely owns this song!

Favourite lyrics:

“Airplanes cut through the clouds
Like angels can fly, we’ll never die
Sirens cut through the night
Like screams that are fire, rising up high
Like I’ve something to prove, nothing to lose
In this city, in this city woah

All of this time, I questioned myself, I never could wait
Looking for signs, not asking for help, I know it’s too late
A love lost and buried here, it comes to life, life
Make believe worlds make us all feel alive, live

  • San Francisco

This song is really really good! My brother is currently in San Francisco, so I think of him every time I listen to this song.

Favourite lyrics:

“Leaves fall from the tallest trees
Even mountains crumble into the sea
Holding on to memories
And I can’t let go

I wanna get back to where we started to the summer night
You know, you know, you know, you know we got it right
Yeah get back to San Francisco, in the fire light
You know, you know, you know, you know we had it right”

  • Outer Space/ Carry On

I fell in love with this the moment I listened to it! I like how they put the two songs in the same track. I admit Outer Space is my favourite out of the two but Carry On is really beautiful too, since it tells you things will get better, if they aren’t at the moment.

Favourite lyrics:

“Nothing like the rain, nothing like the rain
When you’re in outer space, when you’re in outer space”

“I got one foot in the golden life, one foot in the gutter
So close to the other side, so far from the wonder”

  • The Space Between A Rock And A Hard Place

I can’t say much of this one because I’ve only listened to it a couple of times but it kind of reminds me of ‘Accidentally in Love’.

Favourite Lyrics:

“I’m trapped under your spell
It saves me, breaks me ’til I fall back to you”

  • Story Of Another Us

This is also one of my favourite songs in the album. It’s definitely in the top 3! The Target Edition always has a song that makes it into my ultimate favourites. In the first album, it was Close As Strangers and now it’s this one.

Favourite Lyrics:

“I got a long term plan with short term fixes”

Leave a Reply

