“Girl Online: On Tour” – A Review

Disclaimer: this post might contain spoilers. Read at your own risk!

Hello everyone!

I don’t know if you remember but in the beginning of the year I made a blog post where I talked about Girl Online by Zoe Sugg. I really liked it and I can honestly say it was one of the books I most enjoyed reading this year. That being said, you can probably guess that I was pretty excited about reading the second book, Girl Online: On Tour. Since the book was out (two weeks ago or something liked that), I’d gone to different bookshops in my city in search of it. It wasn’t until yesterday that I found it. The funny thing is that yesterday I didn’t go look for it, I was looking for something else, but ended up leaving with the last copy of it they had there.

So I got home and I told myself I wasn’t going to read it because I was already reading another book. Yeah, right… Half an hour later, you could find me lying in bed starting the first chapter. And let me tell you one thing: I can’t remember the last time a book got me this hooked! (I mean, it was probably Girl Online itself…) I started reading it at like six in the afternoon, alternating between reading a few chapters and catching up on a tv series, and then it was dinner time. Immediately after it, I went to my room to continue my task of reading the book and when I noticed it was 1:30 in the morning and I had finished it.

Without going into too much detail, the book tells the story of Penny as she goes along on tour with her rock star boyfriend, Noah. A little background on her: Penny used to have a blog, but she stopped publicly posting because of the hate she received. There are times where she feels tempted to start writing again but she always remembers what happened. I feel like while writing this part of the plot line, Zoe must have gotten some inspiration from what happens to her and other youtubers. Being a youtuber, Zoe has certainly had to deal with problems like this and it must take a lot of strength to keep going at times. So I definitely think that what Penny had to deal with, blog-wise, is a reflection of what Zoe probably has dealt with.

On this book, Penny also has to deal with her anxiety as she struggles to keep up with Noah’s busy schedule. Broken promises, trust issues, someone going by the username “TheRealTruth” blackmailing her… Penny definitely has her fair share of problems on this tour and it’s definitely not all sun and rainbows. Penny also comes face to face with her ex-best friend Megan who asks for forgiveness about all the bad things she did to her, who asks for another chance and Penny struggles to trust her again, not knowing if there are any ulterior reasons behind it.

One episode I particularly liked was when they were in Rome and Penny decided to not let the fact that Noah ended up being busy ruin her day and went off to explore the city on her own. I especially like the conversation she has with Leah and I think that what Leah tells her about pursuing her dreams and not live in the shadows of someone else’s is great advice.

When I was like a hundred pages away from the end I had my suspicions of who “TheRealTruth” might have been, so I wasn’t surprised in the end when it was in fact that person. I still really liked the part where everything comes clean. I think it was a very intense moment.

Obviously, I really liked how the story between Alex and Elliot (Penny’s best friend) ended. The surprise Alex prepared for him was definitely worthy of being so detailed and on the last chapters. I also liked how Penny faced her fear and put her photographs on the showcase, because it kind of shows how much Penny grew up through the book. On another note though, the end left me hanging a bit because it didn’t really tell you what will happen to Noah and Penny. I was left wondering: are they going to get back together? Are they going to be only friends? I hope it was the first one, but there’s no way to find out. At least, not until Zoe publishes another book, if she ever does… I think she will though, because the way the book ended left many questions to be answered and the story felt quite unfinished.

Anyway, I really really enjoyed reading this book (if I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have read it in like eight hours, would I?) and it was good to find a book that made me this hooked again. I definitely missed the feeling! If you read the first book, I totally recommend you read this one and if you haven’t and you think you might like it, go read both!

This is all for today. Until next time,

Jo x

Leave a Reply

