Made In The A.M.

So as you probably know if you’ve been following my blog for a while, music is really important to me. I made a post similar to this one last month and I really enjoyed writing it, so I thought I should give this a go.

I’ve been a fan of One Direction for more than four years and it feels as if I grew up with them and I watched them grow up too. This album is the living proof of how much they changed, of how much they matured, as did their sound.

IMG_20151122_012035

Made In The A.M. is their fifth album and definitely one of my favourites (if not my favourite one!). They are a lot better vocally on this album; I mean, they’ve gotten better over the years but I just feel like on this one, they took it one step further. Don’t take my words the wrong way but I think this has to do with Zayn leaving. It’s as if they felt they had to put everything on this album, each of them had to show more of their voices, because they didn’t have Zayn to do those wonderful high notes anymore, you know? The album is also really good lyrically. You can tell that the songs mean a lot to all of them. And I think they didn’t make this album to be a number one hit, they made it to give back to the fans before going on a break and whatever came with it was just a bonus.

Every song has something special about it, so I figured I’d tell you my opinion on all of them.

  • Hey Angel

I think this is the perfect song to open the album but maybe I’m a bit bias because it’s one of my favourites. I was quite excited about listening to it for the first time, because Harry had tweeted a bunch of lyrics of it. To be honest, I was expecting it to be a slower song but I wasn’t disappointed with it. It has a nice rhythm and definitely some of my favourite lyrics.

Favourite lyrics:

“Hey angel
Do you know the reasons why
We look up to the sky?
Hey angel
Do you look at us and laugh
When we hold on to the past?”

“Hey angel
Tell me, do you ever try
To come to the other side?
Hey angel
Tell me, do you ever cry
When we waste away our lives?”

  • Drag Me Down

This was the first single of the album and I think it was the one people had been looking for the most. It was the first song they put out as a four-piece and I believe most people, like me, were wondering if they would be able to pull it off without Zayn. I admit I was kind of scared of what the future had in store for them. Drag Me Down blew me away, I felt like it was the perfect song to set the record straight, to show they were still in the game and it made me incredibly excited for the new album. I loved the lyrics and I loved the song and I remember how proud I felt that they pulled off such a great song. Harry’s high notes also made me excited for the songs to come.

Favourite lyrics:

“I got a river for a soul
And baby you’re a boat
Baby you’re my only reason”

“If I didn’t have you, I’d never see the sun
You taught me how to be someone”

“All my life
You stood by me
When no one else was ever behind me
All these lights
They can’t blind me
With your love, nobody can drag me down”

  • Perfect

They’ve said this is probably the most pop song in the album. It’s a love song, but the living in the moment kind of thing. It puts me in a happy mood every time I listen to it and I just think it’s a really fun song as well. Honestly, I’m listening to it as I write this and I just want to get up and dance around to it.

Favourite lyrics:

“But if you like causing trouble up in hotel rooms
And if you like having secret little rendezvous
If you like to do the things you know that we shouldn’t do
Baby, I’m perfect
Baby, I’m perfect for you
And if you like midnight driving with the windows down
And if you like going places we can’t even pronounce
If you like to do whatever you’ve been dreaming about
Baby, you’re perfect
Baby, you’re perfect
So let’s start right now”

“But that don’t mean that we can’t live here in the moment
‘Cause I can be the one you love from time to time”

“And if you’re looking for someone to write your breakup songs about
Baby, I’m perfect”

  • Infinity

This is another of my favourites. The lyrics are just so beautiful and the way they sing it and the melody, it just makes me feel so much. Some of the lyrics are really meaningful to me. I remember listening to the song the first time and thinking “wow this one is simply amazing!” and I still think that. They did a great job with this song!

Favourite lyrics:

“Down to Earth
Keep on falling when I know it hurts
Going faster than a million miles an hour
Trying to catch my breath some way, somehow

Down to Earth
It’s like I’m frozen, but the world still turns
Stuck in motion, and the wheels keep spinning ’round
Moving in reverse with no way out”

“How many nights does it take to count the stars?
That’s the time it would take to fix my heart”

“How many nights have you wished someone would stay?
Lie awake only hoping they’re okay
I never counted all of mine
If I tried, I know it would feel like infinity”

“Eyes can’t shine
Unless there’s something burning bright behind”

“And now I’m one step closer to being two steps far from you”

  • End Of The Day

I had mixed feelings about this one when I first listened to it. I wasn’t sure about the transition between the verses and the chorus, but then it grew on me. The first time I listened to it I remember being like “I’m sorry did they just sing: I said you’re on fire, babe?”. But then you get to the chorus and the lyrics have a really important message.

Another thing about this song is that it really shows how much they evolved vocally. Take Louis as an example: he barely had any solos on the first album and he has a really great high note on this song.

Favourite lyrics:

“All I know at the end of the day
Is you want what you want and you say what you say
And you follow your heart even though it’ll break
Sometimes
All I know at the end of the day
Is you love who you love, there ain’t no other way
If there’s something I’ve learnt from a million mistakes
You’re the one that I want at the end of the day”

“When the sun goes down I know that you and me and everything will be alright
And when the city’s sleeping
You and I can stay awake and keep on dreaming”

  • If I Could Fly

If I had to choose a favourite song on the album, which would be really really hard, it would probably come down to this one. This song is just simply breathtakingly beautiful! The moment I started listening to it, I was on the verge of tears (yes, it’s that good!). The melody is great, the lyrics are fantastic and their voices are amazing too (and they sing with so much emotion!). It’s a slow song and a really good one. One of my favourite parts of the song is almost at the end when Louis sings one line, then Niall sings another, then Liam, then Harry. Harry also has a really beautiful high note too.

I just think everyone should really really listen to this song!

Favourite lyrics: (I just had to put the whole song here)

“If I could fly, I’d be coming right back home to you
I think I might give up everything, just ask me to
Pay attention, I hope that you listen cause I let my guard down
Right now I’m completely defenseless

For your eyes only, I show you my heart
For when you’re lonely and forget who you are
I’m missing half of me when we’re apart
Now you know me, for your eyes only
For your eyes only

I’ve got scars, even though they can’t always be seen
And pain gets hard, but now you’re here and I don’t feel a thing
Pay attention, I hope that you listen cause I let my guard down
Right now I’m completely defenseless

For your eyes only, I show you my heart
For when you’re lonely and forget who you are
I’m missing half of me when we’re apart
Now you know me, for your eyes only
For your eyes only

I can feel your heart inside of mine
(I feel it, I feel it)
I’ve been going out of my mind
(I feel it I feel it)
Know that I’m just wasting time
And I hope that you don’t run from me

  • Long Way Down

This is another of my favourites (I feel like I’m repeating myself). It’s just that some of the lyrics hit really close to home. I had a fall out with a friend a couple of months ago (as you might have heard if you’ve been following my blog for a while) and some of the lyrics just make me think about it. The song is really good and I don’t really get tired of listening to it.

Favourite lyrics:

“We made a fire
Went down in the flames
We sailed an ocean
And drowned in a wave
Built a cathedral
But we never prayed”

“Point of no return
And now it’s just too late to turn around
I try to forgive you,
But I struggle ’cause I don’t know how
We built it up so high and now I’m fallin’
It’s a long way down”

  • Never Enough

First time I listened to this song, it scared the shit out of me! They kind of grunt at the beginning (and a couple of times through the song) and I wasn’t expecting it at all. At first I didn’t like it that much because of it, but once you get past it the song is really cool! The thing is: the grunts are the thing I dislike the most about the song but are also the thing I most like “singing” in it. It just makes me laugh.

All in all, the song has a really great vibe and they have some pretty cool high notes!

Favourite lyrics:

“I don’t need my love
You can take it, you can take it, take it
I don’t need my heart
You can break it, you can break it, break it”

  • Olivia

This was a song that I really didn’t like at first. I don’t really know why, because the song isn’t bad and now it has grown on me, but I just didn’t. I just think it’s a bit different from the rest. The lyrics are really cute and there’s a part in the bridge that reminds me of Pure Imagination from Willy Wonka.

Favourite lyrics:

“This isn’t the stain of a red wine, I’m bleeding love”

“Please believe me, don’t you see
The things you mean to me?
Oh I love you, I love you
I love, I love, I love Olivia”

“I live for you, I long for you, Olivia
I’ve been idolizing the light in your eyes, Olivia
I live for you, I long for you, Olivia
Don’t let me go”

“When you go and I’m alone
You live in my imagination”

  • What A Feeling

This song is really great! It’s another one that’s different from what you’d expect from them but I feel as if this album has a lot of unexpected songs. This one, well, I fell in love with it from the first listen. I don’t know how to explain this song but it has a way of making you feel kind of like you are somewhere where you feel comfortable and at ease, it kind of takes you back to the place where you belong (I don’t really know how to explain it, sorry). The feeling I get with this song is the same feeling I got when I was in my WWAT concert and they played Right Now, so maybe that’s one of the reasons I like it so much.

Favourite lyrics:

“In her eyes there’s no lies, no lies
There’s no question, she’s not in a disguise”

“With no way out and a long way down
Everybody needs someone around” (I see what they did here!)

“What a feeling to be right here beside you now
Holding you in my arms
When the air ran out and we both started running wild
The sky fell down
But you’ve got stars in your eyes
And I’ve got something missing tonight
What a feeling to be a king beside you, somehow
I wish I could be there now”

“Whatever chains are holding you back
Holding you back, don’t let ’em tie you down”

  • Love You Goodbye

I’m saying it again: this is another of my favourites! The song is really beautiful, the lyrics are great, Louis has a high note and I just feel like there’s a lot of emotion in the way they sing this song. It’s a break up song and you can feel the sadness, the heartbreak.

(There’s also this strange thing where I can almost hear Zayn in one of Harry’s high notes but that’s not really possible, is it?)

Favourite lyrics:

“It’s inevitable everything that’s good comes to an end
It’s impossible to know if after this we can still be friends, yeah
I know you’re saying you don’t wanna hurt me
Well, maybe you should show a little mercy”

“If tomorrow you won’t be mine
Won’t you give it to me one last time?
Oh, baby, let me love you goodbye”

“Unforgettable together, held the whole world in our hands
Unexplainable, a love that only we could understand, yeah”

“My heart’s already breaking, baby, go on, twist the knife”

  • I Want To Write You A Song

I feel like this is one of the songs that they kind of wrote for the fans. I mean, not the whole song maybe, but some lyrics really seem like they were written for the fans to have something to hold on to. It’s a really beautiful song!

Favourite lyrics:

“I want to write you a song
One as beautiful as you are sweet
With just a hint of pain
For the feeling that I get when you are gone”

“Oooh, everything I need I get from you
Oooh, givin’ back is all I wanna do”

“So any time you think that your heart is gonna sink
You know it won’t”

“I want to write you a song
One to make your heart remember me
So any time I’m gone
You can listen to my voice and sing along”

  • History

They said they wrote this song for the fans and you can tell by the lyrics. I think it’s also them asking the fans not to leave, not to forget them and reassuring everyone that they will be back and still have a lot that they want to do. It’s a really amazing song and it makes me feel really happy, because some of the lyrics are all the reassurance I needed. It’s also really nice to feel what we mean to them, because one can feel it in the song.

Favourite lyrics:

“No, they don’t teach you this in school
Now my heart’s breaking and I don’t know what to do

“You and me got a whole lot of history (oh)
We could be the greatest team that the world has ever seen
You and me got a whole lot of history (oh)
So don’t let it go, we can make some more, we can live forever”

“Cause the truth is out, I realize that without you here life is just a lie
This is not the end, this is not the end
We can make it, you know it, you know”

  • Temporary Fix

This is just No Control 2.0., isn’t it?

It has a really party vibe that makes you want to dance and sing along. Harry’s voice on this one is really on point, but I just think the whole song is just right! I absolutely love it!

Favourite lyrics:

“If you’re not hooked on anything right now, I can be your vice”

“All you need to know is
You can call me
When you’re lonely
When you can’t sleep
I’ll be your temporary fix
You control me
Even if it’s just tonight”

  • Walking In The Wind

I feel like this is another song that was kind of made for the fans. It’s another of my favourites and it just makes me feel really happy and reassured. It also has some of my favourite lyrics! The song is really good in my opinion, I love it a lot!

Favourite lyrics:

“A week ago you said to me
“Do you believe I’ll never be too far”
If you’re lost, just look for me
You’ll find me in the region of the summer stars
The fact that we can sit right here and say goodbye
Means we’ve already won
The necessity for apologies between you and me
Baby, there is none

“You will find me
Yeah you will find me
In places that we’ve never been
For reasons we don’t understand
Walking in the wind”

“We had some good times, didn’t we?
We wore our hearts out on our sleeve
Goodbyes are bittersweet
But it’s not the end
I’ll see your face again

“I know we’ll be alright child
Just close your eyes and see
I’ll be by your side
Any time you’re needing me”

  • Wolves

I actually don’t listen to this song a lot. I don’t know why, I don’t dislike it or anything, it just doesn’t play that much when I have the album on shuffle, somehow…

But the song is good, it’s another one of those that makes me want to dance around.

Favourite lyrics:

“In the middle of the night when the wolves come out
Headed straight for your heart like a bullet in the dark
One by one, I gotta take them down
We can run and hide, ain’t goin’ down without a fight
I hear them calling for you”

  • A.M.

The album ends with another of my favourites. I feel like this one is following the steps of Act My Age, but being a kind of slower song instead of a party one. It makes me feel quite nostalgic. It makes me think about my friends and remember our little dinners/night outs we have once in a while. We had one sometime ago and when I was going home, I was just looking back on the night and thinking of this song and just thinking of how much it fit our get-togethers.

It’s a song I can’t help but compare to Somewhere in Neverland by All Time Low because, even though the music style is totally different, the subject is basically the same, the feelings are similar.

It’s a great song to finish the album!

Favourite lyrics:

“Feels like this could be forever tonight
Break these clocks, forget about time”

Won’t you stay ’til the A.M.?
All my favourite conversations
Always made in the A.M
Cause we don’t know what we’re saying
We’re just swimming round in our glasses
And talking out of our asses
Like we’re all gonna make it”

“Feels like this could be forever right now
Don’t wanna sleep cause we’re dreaming out loud
Trying to behave but you know that we never learned how”

“You know I’m always coming back to this place”

This is it for tonight. I spent the past two hours writing this and it’s now 2a.m.so I guess you could say this post was Made In The A.M. (you know that I had to…)

Anyway, until next time,

Jo xx

Leave a Reply

