Visiting new places: First time in Germany

Hello everyone!

I finished my lessons on friday so I’m finally on holidays (yeah, just kidding, I have a last assignment which is due tomorrow and then I have to start revising for my exams in January but yay, Christmas!). Anyway, I finally got some time to update you on my trip to Germany two weeks ago.

As you might know if you’ve been around my blog long enough, my brother is living abroad and he has been for two and a half years give or take. Unfortunately for me, it was never the right time for me to go visit until now, because when I actually could go, he was back here in Portugal. So in the beginning of December I finally had the chance to go, along with my aunt. Since December 8th is a national holiday here in Portugal, we decided to go on Saturday (December 5th) and come back on Tuesday. We had the trip planned out for a while and as it got closer, I grew more and more excited. I’d never been to Germany but, as much as I love visiting new places, I didn’t think the country would win me over.

Now back to the trip… On Saturday morning, my parents drove my aunt and I to the airport and a bit before ten we were boarding our Ryanair flight. It was actually my aunt’s first time flying on a lowcost company so I was hoping everything would go smoothly. There was a problem with a radar in the west coast of France so we ended up departing 30 minutes late but apart from that the flight was uneventful. We made it to Frankfurt-Hann at lunch time, where my brother was waiting for us. I hadn’t seen him in a little over three months so I was really happy to be with him again. He had rented a car for the 4 days we were going to be there so after having lunch, we started our one-hour-and-40-minutes journey to his city. I had seen a bit of Germany from the plane and it all had seemed so green, not at all like I imagined, so I was quite excited for the drive back. Needless to say, it didn’t take me long to fall in love with the view.

We ended up going to IKEA in a city called Saarlouis which isn’t far from where my brother’s living because he needed to buy some things for his house (he had recently moved in to a new apartment) and he didn’t usually have a car to take the stuff home. We got to Saarbrücken when it was already dark so we didn’t see much of the city that day, just walked around a bit.

On Sunday, we overslept (not shocking, to be honest) so it was almost lunch time when we were ready to leave. Since in Germany everything is closed on Sundays (which is beyond me because here in Portugal Sunday is the only free day some people actually have to go to the mall or shops or restaurants with family/friends), we ended up deciding to go visit the City of Luxembourg, because it was only one hour and a half away. I was quite excited about it, because it was another place I’d never been to as well (neither had my brother).

On Monday, we spent the whole day visiting Saarbrücken, mostly walking around. I really liked the city and I wish I had more time to spend there. I can actually see myself returning soon. Our flight back was at lunch time so we didn’t have time to visit anything else on Tuesday. It wasn’t that hard to say goodbye to my brother because I knew he’d be coming home not even after two weeks, so it was more like “I’ll see you soon”.

I had a lot of fun those four days and I ended up liking it more than I thought I would! Besides, that’s two more countries of the world I’ve visited and I couldn’t be happier about it!

Until next time,

Jo xx

 

Leave a Reply

