Where have you been?

Hey there!

This really isn’t how I thought blogging would be at the beginning of 2016. I haven’t made a post in roughly two weeks and I’m deeply sorry about that. It’s just that things have been complicated… The first semester ended before Christmas and now it’s exams’ season. So as you can probably guess, I haven’t done much these past two weeks beside studying. I’ve done two exams out of four and the next two (which happen to be the worst ones) are next week, so hopefully I’ll be back to posting regularly after that. I hope I don’t have to re-take any exams because if I don’t, I’ll have two weeks of vacations to rest before the second semester begins. There’s a couple of places in my country I might end up going to in that time, so I’m looking forward to that. What about you? Are you planning on visiting somewhere soon? Is there something you’re looking forward to?

Oh yeah, there’s something else I wanted to tell you guys about… So last week and especially last weekend it rained a lot and, even though the weather has gotten better, a part of my city has been flooded since Monday. The Mondego river flows through the city and because of the heavy rain, the main dam on the river was forced to open the gates to discharge water. According to the news, instead of doing it gradually, they increased the flow suddenly to 1100 m³/s, which was the main reason for the floods. While floods happen in my city once in a while in the winter because of the rain, it appears to have been worse this time. On Monday, after my exam I walked to the city center so that I could pass by the park that is right next to the river and it’s always the first place to get flooded. While I do admit to thinking that the park looked tragically beautiful, I didn’t know the full extent of the floods until later. You can see some pictures of it here. Even though the few restaurants and bars in the park are completely flooded and so are some buildings on the left bank of the river, I admit the one thing that’s bothering me most is that the ruins of the Monastery of Santa Clara-A-Velha are flooded as well. This monastery was built on the 14th century and it’s really beautiful. It has been flooded since Monday and while it’s still unclear, people fear that there might be some irreparable damage on it. (You can also see a picture of that here.) So, do things like this happen where you live? Do floods or other natural catastrophes happen in your cities?

Tell me all about it in the comments!

Until next time,

Jo xx

 

4 thoughts on “Where have you been?

  1. I live in Melbourne, which is blissfully and annoyingly one of the most uneventful places EVER. The biggest natural disaster that happens here is a heat wave, and any time OTHER than summer all the weather is, is cold and rainy. It’s not fun. But I am lucky not to have to worry about bushfires, floods or blizzards. I hope your place in the world gets better soon, and good luck with the exams!
    Hasty xx
    nearlyaprincess.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sure Melbourne is not that uneventful, but I’ve never been anywhere close to Australia, so I have no idea 😛 I think things are slowly getting back to how they were before the floods, but thanks 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

