Gelato in Rome

Hello everyone!

It’s been almost two months since I went to Rome but I really wanted to tell you about all the different gelato I tried while I was there. I could’ve done this post before today but it would’ve been rushed and I didn’t want that. Anyway, I had an exam today and from now on I have more free time so I plan on posting a lot more. Besides, I went to Madrid last weekend to see 5 Seconds of Summer since they weren’t coming to Portugal but I also had time to visit the city, so I want to share things about that trip too. Not today, though, because today it’s all about ice cream!

On my first day in Rome (or afternoon since we got there after lunch), we walked around the city, visiting some churches and seeing some monuments. We went to Fontana di Trevi, which was packed with people but really pretty nonetheless. Near the fountain, on the street on its right, there’s a little ice cream shop called Don Nino. It looked cute from the outside and the gelato looked good too, so I decided to give it a go.

IMG_20160423_184455

The flavor I chose was stracciatella and let me tell you, it was really good. The taste was great but the biggest difference I found in the gelato was in the texture, it was kind of more soft.

On the next day, right after lunch, we were walking around the Trastevere and I was looking for ice cream shops that seemed good to me when I stumbled upon one. It was called Fior Di Luna and I think this was the one that had the best gelato from the ones I tried.

IMG_20160424_152052

This time I chose dark chocolate ice cream (I know it doesn’t look that dark but it was and it was so so good) and forest fruit yogurt (or something like that). They were both really really good! I would totally recommend the gelato from here to anyone!

Finally, on the next day, I went to a place one of my friends had recommend and that was also in a Rome travel guide I’d seen. We went to Giolitti and you could really tell this place is well-known because it was filled with tourists.

IMG_20160425_123539

For this one, I chose three different flavors because I was quite hungry since it was late in the morning and my breakfast was long gone. I chose mango, white chocolate and oreo. They were all good, really good even, but my expectations were kind of high and I couldn’t help but feel a little disappointed, especially after eating gelato from Fior Di Luna. But don’t get me wrong, the gelato there was good, better than most I’ve eaten in my life, just not my favourite from the ones I had a chance to try.

Anyway, if you’ve been to Rome, have you been to any of these places? Or are there any other you would recommend? Feel free to tell me more in the comments.

Until next time,

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_139_9A183A39D1F02D8A8A876B5C1E8CD965

Leave a Reply

