Songs for my younger self

I’ve listened to music since I was really young. I don’t even know how I started or when I had my first earphones or when I realised that I could listen to music to escape the shitty world around, whether it was my parents arguing or my insecurities and self-doubt getting the best of me or a million of other stuff… But yeah, somehow while growing up, I started leaning on music, like a lot and music is one of the most important things in my life. Music is the reason I started loving myself and started having some self-confidence. It also helps me deal with anxiety. Music is my escape and a way to recharge my batteries.

I listen to a lot of different music, depending on my mood but there are some songs that help me a lot when I’m feeling down or insecure or simply in need of being reminded that everything will be okay.

Like I’ve said, music helped me start loving myself but this was a relatively recent process, in the last couple of years. Maybe it was because I only now found the right songs or maybe because my understanding of the lyrics and music in general was different and deeper, but sometimes I ask myself if things would have chanced sooner if I had these songs earlier on in my life. If 9th or 10th or even 11th grade me had been able to listen to these songs would I have dealt better will all the self-doubt and self-hate? Would life have been easier if these songs were out like six years ago?

Maybe they wouldn’t have changed anything because I was probably too young to understand the real meaning behind them but I don’t know… And I will never know the answer to these questions but still I’ve made a list of these songs, of the songs I wish I’d been able to hear back then because they’re the ones that help me be okay or even happy with myself. These are those songs:

  • Little Me by Little Mix

This song has been out for three years, I think, and I vaguely remember listening to it for the first time and crying because I was already better back then than I was when I was even younger and the lyrics really hit close to home.

  • Jet Black Heart by 5 Seconds Of Summer

I’ve talked about what this song means to me here on the blog, both when I did the review of their album and when I talked about their concert in Madrid, so I’m not going to repeat myself. I’m just going to say that this song has helped me so so much.

  • Therapy by All Time Low

This song is probably the one (or at least one of them) that played the most important role in me starting to accept myself and starting to be okay with my flaws. This song has made me shed a million tears but somewhere along the way it changed me for the better. I guess this song really was my therapy (someone make me stop!).

  • Missing You by All Time Low

This song is relatively recent (it was only out last year I think), but it was also in the past years that I started this path to loving myself. This one also helped a lot, the lyrics are just really positive and it always puts me in a better mood. To be honest All Time Low are probably one of the artists that had the most importance in this process.

  • Broken Home by 5 Seconds of Summer

This is the song I always turn to when my parents are arguing particularly hard. I’ve also talked the importance of this song on the album review and I’d rather not do it again.

  • Control by Halsey

Halsey is another of those artist that when I started listening to, made me want to get better. It talks about having your demons and fighting them and it’s really deep

  • Gasoline by Halsey

This one also helped me a lot. It starts with “Are you insane like me? Been in pain like me?” and the first time I listen to it, I immediately felt a connection with it.

  • If I Could Fly by One Direction

I’ve been a fan of 1D since I was sixteen, it’s been five years and I still am (not as crazy as I used to be but I am). I think back then listening to my favourite people in the world singing “I’ve got scars even though they can’t always be seen, And pain gets hard, but now you’re here and I don’t feel a thing” would have had some kind of impact in my life (and probably make me burst into tears).

  • Good Enough by Little Mix

This song is really powerful, not only the lyrics which have indeed a really deep meaning but the melodies and all the emotion behind. I can really feel all the pain and kind of rage in the song and in my opinion, it’s impossible not to connect to it in some way. The thing is: now I know, with occasional self-doubts, that I’m good enough but back than I didn’t, so this song would have meant even more.

  • Brave Honest Beautiful by Fifth Harmony

This is completely different song from the ones I’ve talked about until now. It has a completely different vibe because it has more rhythm to it but it still has a really important message behind it. It’s empowering in the best way songs should be and it’s all about self-love. Fifth Harmony have a way of making really empowering songs and it’s one of the reasons I like them so much.

  • Outer Space/Carry On by 5 Seconds Of Summer

I’ve also talked about this one but I usually focus more on Outer Space than on Carry On. Not this time though. I think Carry On is a really good song to listen to when you’re having a bad day.

  • That’s My Girl by Fifth Harmony

This is another of those empowering songs of them I’ve talked about. I felt in love with it when the album was out earlier this year because of lyrics. It always makes me feel happy and kind of powerful and it always brings my mood up.

  • Scars To Your Beautiful by Alessia Cara

This is a beautiful song I’ve been addicted to the past months. The lyrics are beautiful and Alessia Cara is trying to help people with this song and I just have so much respect for her and her work. I don’t even have words to describe this song, it’s just totally worth listening to.

  • Light In The Hallway by Pentatonix

Everything about this song is so amazing that it puts me on the verge of tears every time. Honestly, the lyrics are so so good and reassuring and sometimes reassurance is all a person needs…

  • Standing By by Pentatonix

Like the last song, this song just leaves me with this feeling of reassurance, calmness and happiness.

  • I’ll Be Your Strength by The Wanted

When I started liking The Wanted, this song was already out (it was actually the one that made me fall in love with them). So it has helped me a lot. I used to listen to this in bed when things were really bad and I’d cry and fall asleep listening to it. Still I had to mention it because even though I already understood the lyrics back then, there’s something different about it now. I hadn’t listened to it in months, maybe even a year, and I did last week and it was like I fell in love with it all over again.

  • Tied Together With A Smile by Taylor Swift

I also knew this song back then and listen to it but I really didn’t understand the meaning of it. Only recently when I listened to it again did I realise how good some of the lyrics actually fit to my life.

So yeah these are the songs I wish younger me had been able to listen to. I made a playlist with them on Spotify (except the last one because Taylor doesn’t have her songs there as we know…) and if you want, you can listen to it here.

Until next time,

Jo xx

 

Leave a Reply

