October Book Haul

Hello everyone!

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve been here and I’ve been meaning to do this post for a week now but I’ve just been so insanely busy with uni. It’s a good kind of busy though because I’ve been loving everything (or almost everything) about my master’s degree, all the work included.

In October, I bought a few books and even though I don’t have much time to read nowadays, I can’t wait to read most of them.

octbh

Disclaimer: This post might contain some tiny little spoilers.


  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I started with this one because it’s the only one I’ve read. It was really easy to read as I think all Rainbow Rowell’s books are. It’s a bit different from her other books because it’s a bit more fictional and that put me off a little in the beginning. In the end though, it was a great read, the story is good and it’s captivating and it makes me as emotional as her other books. By the time I finished reading it, I was left wishing I knew more about how Georgie and Neal worked things out.

  • Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

It was the title that caught my attention and then I read the back of the book and I thought it might be interesting. It’s about a boy that has panic attacks and hasn’t left his house in three years and a girl that wants to go study Psychology at university and for that she has to write an essay to send out about her experience so she decides he should be her first case study (and for that she tries to be friends with him).

It seems like a really interesting story so I’m hoping I like it.

  • Surpreendente! by Maurício Gomyde

I have only just realised this book was written by a Brazilian writer and there’s no English version of it (at least yet). The title basically translates to “Surprising!” and it’s about a boy who was, when he was younger, diagnosed with a disease that makes me lose sight. Somehow the disease stops progressing and he starts dedicating himself to one thing he loves: cinematography. The book is about his life and it just sounded like a really interesting book to me.

  • Career Of Evil by Robert Galbraith

I’ve been waiting for this book to be translated to Portuguese for ages! (Basically since I found out it was out in English and yes, I could have bought in English but I have the other two in Portuguese). I stopped by the bookshop to by this the day it was out, even though I haven’t read it yet (but I have started!). Either way, I am just so excited for this because, even though I don’t read much books of this genre, I liked the first two a lot.

  • The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

I’ve been looking for Shakespeare’s books in my local  bookshops for the past couple of months and I couldn’t find any, neither in English nor in Portuguese (even though I wanted them in English). I’ve been wanting to read Twelfth Night ever since I read Just For A Day by Gayle Forman, so I was pretty excited when I saw this for sale. Not only did it have all Shakespeare’s works but it only cost me like 10€, which I think is really cheap considering it’s, well, you know, his whole work and it’s a 1263 pages book.

I’m really happy that I bought this so that I can finally read Shakespeare because shockingly I’ve never read Romeo and Juliet, only seen it.

Anyway, these were the books I bought last month. Knowing me, you can expect another of this posts in a month because I can’t go long without buying books and having them pile up in my room, waiting to be read.

Until next time,

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_139_9A183A39D1F02D8A8A876B5C1E8CD965

Leave a Reply

