On A Budget: Free Samples

Hello everyone!

Today I bring you quite a different post but it’s something I wanted to share with you. I’m sorry about my inconsistency in blogging by the way, but university has been chaotic!

Anyway, today I want to talk about making the most of free samples. There’s always new products entering the market but, being on a student budge, I don’t have money to try all the ones I wish I could. Very recently I noticed both on Facebook and Instagram that some brands gave you the opportunity to try those new products more easily, whether it was by giving you free samples or discount vouchers. Since then, I’ve been using that to my advantage.

a

The first one that caught my attention was Tetley’s campaign on instagram where they were introducing these new “Super Teas” in the market here in Portugal and you could get 1€ discount coupons for each of them. I’d actually already tried 3 out of 4 of them (I even made a blog post about it when I first bought them) and I really enjoyed the green one. I thought this was a great opportunity to try the one I hadn’t (the red one) and buy more of the green (even if I have yet to use them because I always forget to take them with me when I go grocery shopping).

b

Two beauty companies that I’ve noticed give you opportunities to get free samples of their new products often are L’Oréal and Garnier. You just have to give your email and address when you see they are giving out samples of one of their products and they’ll send it to you. That’s how I got samples of L’Oréal new Pure Clay Detox Mask and Pure Clay Purity Mask and Garnier’s Pure Active 3-in-1 Wash, Scrub and Mask.

L’Oréal recently started giving out samples of their Hydra Genius Liquid Moisturizer for Normal and Oily Skin so that’s also on its way to me at the moment.

Recently, The Body Shop decided to promote their Expert Facial Masks here in Portugal and they had this campaign where you replied to a quiz and it would choose the two best face masks for you and then you could go get samples of those two from the stores. I replied to it and got the Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask and the Chinese Ginseng and Rice Clarifying Polishing Mask, which are the exact two that I own (and love very much). So I decided to reply to the quiz again with another email and change my answers so that I could get other two masks because I wanted to use this chance to try them. So I got the British Rose Fresh Plumping Mask and the Ethiopian Honey Deep Nourishing Mask and I went to a physical store to get my samples. Unfortunately, they were out of stock but the woman that worked there was really nice and prepared the two samples you can see in the picture above from the opened face masks they had at the store for the costumers to try.

After a couple of days I went to another mall in my city where there is another TBS store and I decided to go see if I could use my coupon again. And I did (oops). Once again they were out of those samples but the worker gave me samples from other two: the Himalayan Charcoal one and the Amazonian Acai Energizing Radiance Mask which was great because this was the one that was left for me to have.

c

So, yeah, if you’re on a budget like me (and even if you’re not), things like this are the best way to be able to try new products to decide if you want to spend your money on them.

Until next time,

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_139_9A183A39D1F02D8A8A876B5C1E8CD965

 

Leave a Reply

