Last Young Renegade – All Time Low

Hello everyone!

I’m sitting in my bed, listening to music and with a cup of tea and I just had this urge to write, like I always do in not so great days. My mental health hasn’t been that good. I feel too much pressure on my shoulders because of university stuff and more things keep happening and it has been rough for my anxiety. The last two weeks have been really challenging for me and it has been taking a toll on my mental health but I’m dealing with it. And even though it was my intention to go further into this subject here, when I started writing I realised I wasn’t ready for that yet. However, I really wanted to blog about something and I remembered​ some  old posts I used to write, so here we are with an album review, which I haven’t done in a year or more.

So this month two of my favourite artists released new albums: All Time Low and Halsey, and I can’t get enough of both of them. So tonight I’m here to talk about ATL’s new album, Last Young Renegade and I’ll try to make one post about Halsey’s soon.

I’d been waiting for this album for so long that I waited for midnight the day it was out so that I could immediately wait for it. All Time Low had been slowly releasing some of the songs, some of which I liked more than other. I listened to the album and I liked it a lot, and it grows on each time I listen to it. I just have one bad thing to say about it: it’s too short!! Why does it only have TEN songs??

Last Young Renegade is a bit different from their other albums and even though some people didn’t like that change, I have no reasons to complain (maybe because I’m not that picky when it comes to music, it just has to be good). I admit I’ve been promoting it a bit, every chance I get (no regrets).

So now I’m going to walk you through the different songs, telling you my opinion on them.

  • Last Young Renegade

The album opens with the song that has its name and what a way to start… This was the second song (I think) to be released from the album and I was so glad to hear it (back then I didn’t really like the first one that was released and I was afraid I wouldn’t like the whole album, so it was such a relief). I really like everything about this song and the lyrics are just so great! Even though the lyrics aren’t all that happy, every time I listen to it it’s like a weight has been lifted of my shoulders.

Favourite lyrics:

“Making mistakes that were made for us
We brushed them off like paper cuts”

“We said forever, but forever wouldn’t wait for us”

“We used to be such a burning flame
Now we’re just smoke in the summer rain”

  • Drugs & Candy

I was really curious about this song because of the tittle. It’s about toxic relationships, when other people are doing you more bad than good but you can’t let go of them anyway. I liked how they pulled off a song with this lyrics with the vibe it has.

Favourite lyrics:

“I can’t take another hollow-point conversation
It’s getting hard to fake”

“You get me out of my head
I fill the space in your bed
High on the beat of a breakdown
‘Cause you and me are like drugs and candy
And I don’t wanna give it up”

  • Dirty Laundry

This was the first song that was released and I didn’t really like because it was so different from what I expected from them. But very recently, with my mental health like is, I  was listening to the album and this song started and I could relate to a lot of the lyrics, so when I realised it was this one I was quite surprised. It’s about liking other people with all the baggage they have because everyone has their skeletons.

Favourite lyrics (I’ll try not to put the whole song, I promise):

“I don’t believe in saints
They never make mistakes
I know it’s not my place
Who am I to tell you that you need to change?”

“Her closet’s such a mess
Filled up with all the skeletons she’s kept
Nobody’s perfect I confess
But she’s perfect enough”

“Dirty laundry is piling in her room
She’s got her secrets
Yeah I got mine too
I don’t care about what you did
Only care about what we do
Dirty laundry looks good on you”

  • Good Times

Let me just say… This is such an amazing song! It makes me feel really nostalgic and happy. It also makes me thing about the future and now I’m really glad to have this song when I leave this city one day.

This song is about remembering the future and facing the future that’s to come, no matter how terrifying it might seem. And you’ll always have the memories of the good times, as cliché as it sounds.

Listening to it right now, it also reminds me of this amazing night I had last summer with all my best friends and I won’t forget those good times for sure (this song is making me very emotional, right now).

Favourite lyrics:

“Underneath the stars we came alive
And singing to the sky just felt right
I won’t forget the good times”

“I never want to leave this sunset town
But one day the time may come
And I’ll take you at your word and carry on
I’ll hate the goodbye
But I won’t forget the good times”

“Devil-may-care but we didn’t mind
I won’t forget the good times”

  • Nice2KnoU

I admit I don’t listen to this one very often but every time I do, I just feel like dancing. It has a great vibe and the lyrics, unsurprisingly, are very good too.

Favourite lyrics:

“We always say that we’ll keep in touch
Nobody does, but it don’t matter much”

“One more time for second chances
We just wanna do some damage”

“So long, so nice to know ya
Nice to know ya
I’m sorry to say
We can’t go back to yesterday”

  • Life Of The Party

Another song I’ve liked since I first heard it. Even though I don’t fully relate to it because I’m definitely not the “life of the party”, there’s some parts of the lyrics that it close to home.

Favourite lyrics:

“And it’s 4 in the morning
I’m just trying to fix myself
What the hell did I do?
I’m the life of the party”

“Somewhere in between
Who I used to be
And who I’ll be tomorrow
When the champagne blows my mind”

“In a sea of strangers
I can’t find me anymore”

“You said it’s all for a reason
But what the fuck is the reason now?”

  • Nightmares

This is one of my favourite songs on the album. The tittle is pretty self-explanatory, isn’t it? I’ve been listening to it a lot recently, you can guess why by now. It’s a song I really needed to exist and I’m glad it does. It’s about those fears and scars that you can’t seem to outgrow. I have a few and each day it gets harder to overcome them so I’ve started accepting that maybe I’ll never will.

Favourite lyrics:

“Now there’s a ghost in the back of this room
And I don’t like it
I fall asleep with my covers pulled up
And try to fight it
I gotta say, it’s hard to be brave
When you’re alone in the dark
I told myself that I wouldn’t be scared
But I’m still having nightmares”

“Kept my fears in a suitcase
I locked them away
In a place I wouldn’t find
They still haunt me
I think about it every now and again”

  • Dark Side Of The Room

Another song I don’t really listen to but it’s really good, I just don’t relate to it, at least right now. Besides this song has a lot of energy and that’s not the type of music I’m into at the moment (maybe it should be…).

Favourite lyrics:

“With nights like these, who needs the days?
I shut my eyes and sleep them away”

“With friends like you, who needs friends?
I shut my mouth and we do it all again”

  • Ground Control

My other favourite song in the album. I’ve listen to it so so much. I can’t really explain my connection with it but from the first listen, I was hooked. Now that I thing about it, it’s the exact same thing that happens with Outer Space by 5 Seconds Of Summer (maybe I have a thing with songs that mention outer space, who knows…). Seriously, though, the best way to describe is that this song gives me hope but also makes me realise how broken I can feel.

Favourite lyrics:

“All systems are critical
Can’t find my way back to you
Feels like there’s nowhere to go
I’m just out here waiting for you to say”

“I promise, you will be fine
Got the universe on your side
When you’re out in space
Don’t you be afraid, no
If you start floating away”

“I think I’ve lost my mind
There’s nothing keeping me from going outside anymore”

  • Afterglow

The perfect way to end the album, in my opinion. It’s such an uplifting song! It puts a smile on my face every time, as I bop my head to it.

Favourite lyrics:

“Step outside in the midnight rain
King n’ queen of the streets again
Got young blood running through our veins”

“Alright, we can go all night
‘Cause we got a whole lot of fight in us
And I see a long road that we gotta follow
Before tomorrow catches up”

“Oh, just take it easy
Hold onto this feeling”

“”Can’t stay here but you can’t go home,”
Did you hear that line somewhere before?
And you look just fine on your own
But we look better in the afterglow”

 

So this was all I had for you this time. I totally recommend you go listen to this album!

Until next time,

Jo x

Leave a Reply

